When I started this blog, I pointed out that there are ‘365 ways’ some fathers consciously or unconsciously do that ‘claw back’ the life prospects of their daughters. In the coming posts I will be blogging on each of the ways and the contents of the blogs will reflect my personal views, values and aspirations. My observations should not be taken as a prescription to ideal fatherhood other than personal observations to what can make us better fathers to our female children. I believe that each of these ‘365 ways’ will help some fathers build better relationships with their girl children. Through these ‘365 ways’ some fathers will reflect on how their attitudes, actions and words significantly reduce the life prospects of their daughters. I envision a world where every girl child feels loved, respected and treasured the same way fathers have been treating their male children for several centuries. To me a case involving even one father mistreating their girl child because of her gender is one case too much in the 21st century. Not even one girl child should have to experience any form of discrimination based on her gender and I hope I should be measured on similar standards in how I will raise and relate to my 5 year old daughter. So this is not a case of other fathers but this also includes me in that whatever expectations I have for other fathers I have to fulfill them myself. So my next post with be talking about ‘way # 1’ and I hope you will find each of the observations challenging, provocative and enlightening.

About marepaul

A social worker with a keen interest in helping fathers build satisfying relationships with their daughters. I know of fathers that have been amazing towards their daughters in so many ways but I also know of fathers who consciously or unconsciously treat their daughters like second class citizens. I would like to have a dialogue with those fathers in the later category who mistreat, control, suppress, harass, embarrass, discriminate, dehumanize, marginalize and dis-empower their girl children just because they happen to be girls. I want to help such fathers identify specific behaviours that may be perpetuating the mistreatment and suppression of the interests and rights of their girl child. I would like to inform these fathers of 365 specific ways they maybe consciously or unconsciously doing to perpetuate the oppression of the girl child within the family.

2 responses »

  1. Joy Andrews says:

    My life’s greatest joy is being a mother to daughters. This is a great topic.

    • marepaul says:

      I feel your joy as I count myself blessed to have a bubbling 5 year old daughter and I will only say mission accomplished when every father feels the same for their daughters. Thanks for your wonderful comment and I look forward to more!

Leave a comment